Board of Directors Home / About Us / Board of Directors

NC Law & Fire


Anthony Halby, President Anthony Halby has been a Board Member of the Nevada County Law Enforcement and Fire Protection Council since 2014. He has resided in Nevada County since 1983 and has five children and three grandchildren. He is a licensed insurance agent since 1971 and is president of The Halby Group doing business in California and Nevada. Anthony was the former president of California Association of Health Underwriters and a former member of the Health Policy Committee for Blue Shield of California for over ten years. He is currently a member of the Medicare Advisory Committee of the National Association of Health Underwriters. Anthony has been recognized in “Who’s Who in America in Finance and Industry.”

Tom O’Toole, Vice President Tom has been a Board Member of the Nevada County Law Enforcement and Fire Protection Council since 2013 and an Associate Member since 2011. Tom is the co-owner of Pacific Bancnote and has been in the security printing business for the past 30+ years. He writes and teaches classes on ID theft and is a supplier of stock certificates and other documents of negotiable value. He has pioneered many print methods to thwart counterfeiters and the unscrupulous intent on fraud.

Donna Roach, Secretary Donna has been working with the Board of the Nevada County Law Enforcement and Fire Protection Council since 2011 and has been associated with the Council since 2008. She has lived in Grass Valley since 1975.  She worked in the financial industry as Operations Manager for PaineWebber, UBS/PaineWebber, UBS Financial Services and Raymond James for 26 years, retiring in 2012.  She is Captain of the Nevada County Country Club Women’s Group and has served on that Board for several years.  She and her husband, Bill (previously on the NCLFC Board since 2007) support many other local charities and organizations in the community.

Marty Lombardi, Treasurer Marty retired as Senior Vice President of Savings Bank of Mendocino County after 41 years of employment. He has devoted many years on numerous Boards and after permanently moving to Grass Valley in 2013 he continues to passionately dedicate his time and support to organizations in Nevada County. Marty is President of the Board of Directors of Sierra Nevada Memorial Hospital Foundation, president of The Friendship Club’s Board of Directors, on the Board of Directors of the Grass Valley Chamber of Commerce, on the Board of Directors of Anew Day, and on the Board of Directors of California Community Bankers Association. In addition, he currently serves on NEO’s Advisory Board and is a student mentor every day at Nevada Union High School.

Mark HeauserBoard Member Mark joined Nevada County Law Enforcement and Fire Protection Council in 2015 (previously an associate member). Mark has been in Nevada County for the better part of his life and enjoys his time in service to give back to the community. He has worked for Plaza Tire and Auto Service since 1978.  Mark has served on many boards and to this point, NCLFC is one of his favorites and most rewarding. It’s an honor to support our great folks in law enforcement and fire protection in Nevada County.

Robert (Bob) Medlyn, Board Member Bob has served on the Board of Nevada County Law Enforcement and Fire Protection Council since 2004 and has held positions of President and Vice President. Bob has a long standing history in Nevada County where he was born and raised. After attending local schools and graduating from Nevada Union High School, he worked in various construction fields. In 1990 he was hired as the Operations Manager for the Beam “Easy Living” Center that he currently owns with his wife Julie and brother-in-law, Brian O’Brien.

Lucas Mijares, Board Member Lucas has been an Edward Jones Financial Advisor since the fall of 2014 when he moved to Nevada County. Lucas and his wife both graduated from Biola University, where they played college basketball together. They are the proud parents of four boys. They attend Crossroads Church in Grass Valley. Lucas has a heart for servanthood and volunteerism. His business allows him to act as a “coach” and guide his clients to invest their money so their financial picture can be positive and promising. Lucas’s hobbies include competing in Spartan Races and endurance races, hiking, and playing card and board games with his family.

Lorraine Jewett, Board Member Lorraine was involved in the Law Enforcement and Fire Protection Council during its infancy in the 1990s, when she served as Nevada County Clerk-Recorder. Lorraine reconnected with the council in 2017 and was elected to the Board in 2018. She considers herself Nevada County’s biggest “has been,” since she has been the lucky duck filling a wide variety of jobs in a myriad of professions. Lorraine is currently a freelance writer for The Union newspaper, a talk show host for KNCO radio, and proprietor of her public relations and promotional company.

Bill Roach, Board Member Bill has been on the Nevada County Law Enforcement and Fire Protection Council board for the past eight years. He has lived in Grass Valley since 1978 and has owned his own business, Roach Industries, specializing in glass working equipment, sales, repairs and service from which he retired in 2012. Bill is also on the Board of Nevada County Country Club and actively supports many other local charities and non-profit organizations in the community.

Terry A. Roach, Attorney of Record Terry has been the legal advisor for the Nevada County Law Enforcement and Fire Protection Council since its formation in 1999. Terry graduated from Stanford University and Hastings College of the Law, then practiced law in the Bay area for nine years before moving to Nevada County with his family in 1975. His practice emphasizes estate planning, business, and real estate law.



Al Arendell
Buckley Armacher

Kenneth Baker
Gordon Beatie
Don Bessee

Mike Bratton
Maria Ramos Byers
Ray Byers
Tony Clarabut
Anita Daniels

David Denney
Monty East
Jeff Fierstein
Bill Gay
Mike Haemmig
Steve Harris
Diane Krenik
Paul Lastufka
Kenneth Meyers
Roxanne Miller
Don Mortara
Sabine Ostrofe
Judith O’Toole
Tom Pepper
Tracy Pepper
Rick Swartz
Rick Testa
Ed Thomas
John Trauner
Maudie Walker